sisterland – walking wounded


Leicester band Sisterland have recently released single Walking Wounded on label Fear and Records, they will appear on the next ArtRocker magazine compilation CD and have been named as one of Loud and Quiet’s bands of the week podcast alongside The Strokes. Futuresoundstemporary caught up with the band on the way down to Oxford in their VW for the Blessing Force music festival, which they were playing on the Sunday.

If you could have written any song ever, what would it have been?

Mark: Horse with No NameMark: by America.

Ian: Naive Melody Ian:by Talking Heads.

Bob: I really don’t know!

Mark: The theme tune to Iron Man!

Bob: No actually, I wish i had written Dope Smoker by Sleep.

What’s the best gig you’ve played so far as Sisterland?

Ian: We haven’t played a good one yet have we?

Mark: The last one, that was pretty good, at Old Blue Last.

FST: What was that for?

Ian: It was our Fear and Records single launch.

What’s the best gig you’ve ever been to in your life?

Mark: Oh! What was that band called from Philadelphia?

Ian: Need New Body?

Mark: Yeah! That was the best gig I have ever been to.

FST: Where was it?

Mark: The Looking Glass in Leicester. I didn’t think it was going to be a good night, but it turned out to be absolutely amazing. It was the best thing i have ever seen.

Bob: When I saw High on Fire in Nottingham when they supported Mastodon, I bit my hand so hard it bled! It was incredible, it blew my face off.

Ian: Mine would be the first ever gig I went to, Smashing Pumpkins when i was thirteen, at Birmingham NEC. Then the day after was the first time I ever bunked off school because I couldn’t handle going to school. It changed me!

What would you grab first if your house was on fire?

Ian: If Mark still lived with me, I would have said Mark! But I would grab my Grandad’s hook (Ian has a framed hook that belonged to his Grandad to unload ships on the Glasgow docklands in the 1930s)

Bob: That thing is well good.

Mark: My display cabinet. My empty display cabinet. Or Bob’s chilli sauce.

What are your plans for this year?

Mark: Produce a video. Well get someone else to do one but be part of it. Yeah do a music video and another single.

Ian: Get signed and not work anymore.

Sell out ASAP and get a sponsor?

Bob: I want to end up looking like from Wayne’s World when he wears loads of Reebok and has loads of cans of coke, just endorsed by everybody. That’s my goal. I want a figurine of myself.

So this Blessing Force gig you’re playing tomorrow, what is it exactly?

Mark: It’s essentially a small music festival now, in a warehouse.

Bob: There’s a load of art as well, loads of installation artwork by Tinhead who does all the Foals artwork.

Ian: Blessing Force has been set up by a guy called Andrew who started Foals, he coordinates all the bands playing at the festival. It’s gonna be fun!

  Sisterland – Walking Wounded

Leave a comment